The results are in

I got a lot of news today and am still letting it all sink in. Explaining it all seems to help thought so if you are interested, here it goes.

I was tested to see if I had the genetic structure that predisposes women to breast and many other types of cancer. This mutation would severely raise my chances of getting cancer again. Luckily I tested negative for the mutation which is very good news.

The other good news is that my liver and the rest of my body seems to be functioning normally so it is more than likely that it has not spread.

The type of cancer that I have is invasive ductal cancer. The tumor is hi-grade and poorly differentiated. bla bla bla, don’t bother looking it up, it’s a nasty ole cancer but it’s early. Further testing of the tumor found it to be Her-2/nu + and ER +. The Dr. assures me that this is good news as being positive for these things mean it will respond to specialized therapies in addition to the Chemo. (yup it took me this long to drop the C-bomb) I’m still learning about the Her-2/nu but the the ER+ means I will be receiving hormone therapy every 21 days for the next year. Surprisingly to me this is the part that scares me the most.

Next step is meet with the surgeon and make some decisions. He may want to start the chemo first then do the surgery or vice versa. If we go surgery first I will do it in the next week or so and start the Chemo 3 weeks after. I will do 6 rounds of chemo, 1 every 3 weeks for a total of 18 weeks. Totally Lame and inconvenient if you ask me.

That is pretty much that as of now. Thank you so much for your concern and kind words, thoughts and prayers, I am going to horde them all because they really do help.

4 thoughts on “The results are in

  1. What a brilliant idea! And you are a great writer! Thanks for keeping us all in the loop. We are thinking of you daily as well.

  2. Lynn we are thinking of you and sending you healing blessings! You are a powerful beautiful woman . . . we love you!

Leave a Reply

