Reform Now!

Health wise things are good y’all. I feel fine. All my scans and tests came back clear and I feel healthy, I feel good about myself. I got my teeth cleaned and even that went well. I’m really well healed from the surgery. My arm feels good and I think I’m going to ease into some yoga classes this week. Things feel so normal.

A week from today brings the first round of chemo, my mom will be here and I am so excited to see her. I’m not too scared really. I know the many things chemo may be but I’m not going to know how my body reacts until it is reacting so why get upset about it before the fact while there is so much anger to have for the health care system.

I was informed last week that my health insurance only covers 8 office visits a year. That is not to say all benefits stop after 8 office visits but that they only pay for 8. They assured me my treatments are considered a different benefit and they will cover their 80% but I need a lot of office visits and will still incur a good deal of debt. The billing woman referred me to a social worker to help rile up some more funds and to apply for medicaid. I called and told him my deal. He told me that I am well in the income range for medicaid but because I have some insurance I -catch this- am not eligible for help. So apparently if I had no insurance and everything was the same all my bills would be covered, but because I am underinsured I may need to join the ranks of folks whose medical debt forces them into bankruptcy. Does that make ANY sense? I realize I am probably getting a higher quality of care by having insurance but this system is F-ed.

This bummes me out. I know we are going to do what we have to do to make this happen but it makes me so sad that people have to go through this. What do people with kids do? What about older people living off their retirement? It sucks so bad that sick people in this country can’t just focus on leading their lives and getting well. SUCKS!!!

 

I actually started this post last week and didn’t post it. Its hard for me to be this deep in the money hole. Mike and I started a business last year and like many small business owners we ran it and our home on credit cards. We are so totally f-ed. At this point the medical expenses are laughable. I can’t even pay the bills I have, let alone all that is about to be tacked on. It completely boggles the mind.

I met with the financial help lady at the cancer center and she is trying to fish out some assistance for me. I also have a few numbers for different organizations that may be able to help as well. She let me know dropping my insurance and applying for medicare was an option. She knows I would get it. It would lead to a slew of problems in the future, especially if obamacare is revoked and the pre-exhisting condition bit is gone, but right now. . . all of my costs would be covered. IS THAT NOT SCREWED UP!?!?!? I don’t think I’m going to do it but it boggles the mind that this is our healthcare system. The working poor gets the shaft.

Sorry. I’m ranting. It’s so crushing to have to worry about stupid money at a time like this. My poor little brain cannot process this much information, emotion or worry.

exhale

As mom always says “the good lord will provide” (I translate it as “the universe will provide”  but tuh-mey-toh, tuh-mah-toh why argue semantics). I suppose, once again, I will just have to work hard and hope for the best. Wow, am I from the mid-west or what? 5 days till mom comes- better start cleaning.

3 thoughts on “Reform Now!

  1. So sorry that you have to deal with the insurance crap on top of everything else you are going through, Lynn. I am dealing with the under-insured bs right now myself. My daughter has asthma and my crappy ass insurance has a $100 deductible per office visit and prescription coverage is next to nothing. She has been to the doctor more about 20 times since last November and her meds cost $130 a month. I know it is nothing compared to what you are going through, but as a single mom in school full time, I struggle to keep up. Like you I am well below the income restriction for medicaid, but can’t get it because I have insurance. I stupidly paid for a full year of this crappy insurance last year thinking that it would be better than nothing, and now realize that I would have been so much better off putting my daughter on medicaid. Now I am just waiting until the coverage I paid for runs out so that I can get her on medicaid and have her scripts and doctors visits paid for; providing that Obamacare isn’t revoked like you mentioned. It makes me crazy that I feel punished for doing what I thought was the responsible thing, putting her on my insurance. Like you I am sickened that this is what people have to go through to get well in this country, it just isn’t right. When I read your story I get even more pissed off. People who are fighting for their lives shouldn’t have to be stressed about going into financial ruin to get the treatment they need to get or stay well!

    Keep up the good fight, lady. I admire your strength and resilience through all that you are going through.

    • Oh girl sorry to hear that. I just don’t understand how bad insurance is so common place. My insurance would be fine, as long as I didn’t get really sick, but that is where things like Medicaid should kick in right? A little assistance instead of a lot. It’s so ridiculous.

  2. Lynn, I don’t know if it will help at all, but any time you get a bill that insurance doesn’t cover, call up whatever number is on it and explain that you are paying for it, not insurance, and ask if there is a different self-pay rate. It is a huge pain in the butt, takes a lot of extra time, but sometimes pans out really well. NEVER pay without checking. I’ve gotten anywhere from 20-70% off original bills. When bills are submitted to insurance companies they are usually inflated by twice what they expect to be paid (I am not an expert in any way, this is all from personal experience). Doctors, labs and hospitals will all negotiate. It isn’t how you should be spending your energy, but it never hurts to ask.

Leave a Reply

