Awesome things about being bald

I have been bald for 2 weeks now and I gotta say… it’s pretty awesome. I discovered my head is good and round, major bonus for hairlessness. I haven’t razor shaved it yet, just no guard clippered it so I still have stubble or “little dots” as one of the kids says, and it feels very nice to pet it. The stubble is getting patchy the closer it gets to my neck but it’s hanging in there at the top so I’m not sure what to do. Subtle stubble mohawk? Probably so.

Other things I love about no hair – when I come in to the AC from the ungodly Texas summer I get an instant chill from the sweat on my head.

I get to sleep with a hat on. (not sure why I like this but I really do).

Everybody smiles at me. It starts out as an ohhhh yikes, wait she saw me looking better smile smile but when they see I’m smiling it turns into a oh good, good for her, give ’em hell lady smile. I like that.

It does not faze the kids. They started out with a lot of questions and now occasionally ask to touch it but overall, just an everyday thing. This may go under the what I love about kids post but for now, here it stays.

Putting a hand towel in the tub with me while bathing and just lying it on my head ggggaaaahhhhhhhh. Water in general feels amazing on a bald scull.

I’ve always liked hats.

Mostly I like to know that I can do wherever the @$&! I want. Swim in the gated pool down the street? I’ve got one boob and a bald head… whose gonna stop me? Go in the 10 items or less lane with 11 items…I dare you to say something. Bring up inappropriately personal information with complete strangers… um I think I’ve always done that, but you get the point.

Sigourney Weaver
Sinead O’Connor
Megan Fox
Demi Moore
Cate Blanchett
Natalie Portman
Britney Spe… Ok Natalie Portman
All hot baldies. Being bald does give me a brief urge to buff up… and the urge is gone, I’ll just buy pretty eye shadow instead.

One thought on “Awesome things about being bald

  1. Lynn,
    I have been following your journey on your blog and must say this is NOT just another WordPress.com site. I have laughed with you and cried with you…….but, mostly laughed. You see, I get it! I remember that there are distinct advantages to being bald. It is effortless and cool and provides a much needed reprieve from blow dryers and curling irons and \”bad hair\” days. It\’s all ok. It is so very doable. You are doing battle and hair is not something that you should have to fuss with. I am in awe of your grace and very good humor. That\’s what girls are made of! When I first looked in the mirror, instead of seeing a bald lady I saw a huge nose. Who would have guessed? It has since shrunk.

    On this journey you are going to meet some incredible people. From the nursing staff to your fellow patients at the infusion center……….they all get it. I distinctly remember the background sound at the center was laughter. Isn’t that something!! I too was rather surprised at the reaction I got from strangers. You caught on early. Smile and smile big and you give everyone the gift of hope and strength.

    You are absolutely right, pretty eyeshadow helps. Earrings, lip gloss and an occasional gorgeous silk scarf tied off to the side behind one ear can be quite elegant.

    I am so proud of you sweet girl.

    Gayle

    p.s. Hope you took that dip in the gated pool!

Leave a Reply

