peep peep poop

Tuesday Mike went out to his friends property to work on training with the dog and got home after I went to sleep. Wednesday I got up to go to work and I found a box on the back porch with a bunch of fuzzy lil ducks in it. “Don’t look too closely” I told myself “they will suck you in!” I identified the critters as baby ducks and didn’t even look long enough to count how many because I was concerned with their ultimate purpose. Were they to be some kind of training tool for the moose? If so, I wanted no part of their cuteness. No sir-re-bob, no part. I was very happy to find out that they were in fact for eggs, and not for the dog but for me.

Some may be confused by this sort of high maintenance gift but not I. Mike has been talking me out of getting chickens for a year at least so this is actually some kind of strange compromise.

I am reading everything online I can find, and am feeding them like crazy since these lil peepers can grow as much as an ounce a day. After letting them run around in the raised garden bed I cant seem to grow anything in, I gave in. They are so stinking cute. Unfortunately any males in the group will still meet a sad but delicious end but at least their short lives will be filled with joy and a crazy bald lady smiling at them. They are pekin ducks. They will be all white and difficult to tell apart so I don’t think naming them is on the bill (ha!) especially not until we figure out who the boys are. Mike has started referring to them susie and the banshees and I kinda find that hilarious.

Some not-all-that-bad-but-incredibly-annoying cancer treatment stuff happened too but I have no desire to talk about that today. Today I just want to talk about ducks.

Image

Leave a Reply

